Wednesday, December 5, 2012

The Duchess of Cambridge, Her Child and Realms of the Commonwealth

I don't know if you are aware that the Duchess of Cambridge is pregnant. This isn't the kind of thing I would normally write about but hey! It's everywhere, I might as well do so. You can read more about this #Royalpregnancy and related stories here, here and here.

Now, this is the part that I really want to focus on. Do you know what the "Realms of the Commonwealth" are? They are the sovereign states within the Commonwealth of Nations   that have the British Monarch as their Constitutional Monarch. The countries are :

Realms of the Commonwealth (Commonwealth Realms)

1. United Kingdom

2. Antigua and Barbuda

3. Australia

4. The Bahamas

5. Barbados

6. Belize

7. Canada

8. Grenada

9. Jamaica

10. New Zealand

11. Papua New Guinea

12. Saint Kitts and Nevis

13. Saint Lucia

14. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

15. Solomon Islands

16. Tuvalu

Source: BBC

If everything goes to plan, this new royal baby will be the constitutional monarch of these countries someday.
So, there you have it. If you didn't know this before, now you know and if you did know, count this as a reminder so that you don't forget.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Scoop it